Boys Varsity Wrestling, Coed Varsity Wrestling · Wrestling Opens Regular Conference Season

Tuesday was the start of a very busy week for the Adams Wrestling team. Competing three times in five days, the Eagles opened up the week in their first Northern Indiana Conference dual of the season.

The match against New Prairie was a classic nail biter until the very end of the night. 

Adams started off well, winning its first five matches of the night. Camden Hanks (195) got things started off for the Eagles, pinning his opponent early in the second period. Both Horace Hill and Joseph Phillips remained undefeated in the season. Hill (220) was quick to action, pinning the New Prairie wrestler before the first minute of action was even over. Phillips (285) did likewise, winning with the pin just over a minute in the first period.

Ashlyn Wiggins (106) won by default. Andrew Hernandez also won quickly, winning by fall.

Jacob Harsh (132) earned a victory for Adams, winning by fall early in the second period.

New Prairie then had four outright wins over the Eagles, clawing their way back into the match. Unfortunately for Adams, the team had three forfeits, giving the Cougars 18 easy points.

The final match of the evening arrived and Adams was down 6 points and it was a match that brought excitement to the entire gym. The match between Ian Donihue and his Cougar opponent went back and forth, and taking nearly the entire time in regulation. With about 30 seconds remaining in the match, Donihue pinned his opponent, winning the match. His 6 points tied the team score up at 42 – 42.

With the tie breaker however Adams lost to New Prairie with the final score being 43-42 Cougars.

Adams will wrestle again on Thursday night on the road at Mishawaka in a NIC match.

With the loss the Eagles fall to 2-3 on the season.

John Adams @ New Prairie

195: Camden Hanks (SBAD) over Hayden Downs (NPRA) (Fall 2:13) 

220: Horace Hill (SBAD) over Lucas Margraf (NPRA) (Fall 0:57) 

285: Joe Phillips (SBAD) over Clayton Lagodney (NPRA) (Fall 1:01) 

106: Ashlynn Wiggins (SBAD) over (NPRA) (For.) 

113: Andrew Hernandez (SBAD) over Hunter Groves (NPRA) (Fall 0:40) 

120: Jacob Abbott (NPRA) over Aiden McQueen (SBAD) (Fall 0:19) 

126: Evan Haws (NPRA) over (SBAD) (For.) 

132: Jacob Harsh (SBAD) over Christian Szalajko (NPRA) (Fall 2:49) 

138: Tristan Balmer (NPRA) over Moamel Mahmood (SBAD) (Fall 1:18) 

145: Gage VanSchoyck (NPRA) over Ryan Downey (SBAD) (Fall 3:28) 

152: Ben Fronk (NPRA) over Melvin Torres (SBAD) (Fall 1:13) 

160: Blake Kessler (NPRA) over (SBAD) (For.) 

170: Tyler Graeber (NPRA) over (SBAD) (For.) 

182: Ian Donihue (SBAD) over Michael Rodriguez (NPRA) (Fall 3:28)